030319-cgt-spt-LHS vs Ridgeview05-my

Lebanon's Ellie Croco has been named the Mid-Willamette Conference player of the year.

Lebanon junior post Ellie Croco has been named the Mid-Willamette Conference girls basketball player of the year.

Croco helped lead the Warriors to the conference championship and the No. 2 seed in this weekends 5A state tournament at Gill Coliseum.

The Warriors (21-3) are on a 15-game winning streak entering the tournament.

In addition to Croco's honor, Lebanon coach Mardy Benedict was named the coach of the year. Benedict joined the varsity program in 1991.

Joining Croco on the Mid-Willamette Conference first team is senior guard Megan Miller. 

Warriors senior point guard Mary Workman was named to the second team.

Three Warriors were named honorable mention: Maddy Romeo, Morgan Hopkins and Paige Wombacher.

On the boys side, Silverton's Jamie McCarty was named coach of the year. 

Silverton senior post Levi Nielsen and his teammate, junior guard David Gonzales, were named co-players of the year. 

Silverton ran away with the league title with a 15-1 mark.

Receiving first-team all-conference honors was made up of: senior guard Jonah Downey of Silverton; senior wing/post Brendan Lesmeister of Central; junior post Jasper Reinalda of Corvallis; sophomore guard Luke Killinger of West Albany; senior wing Seth King of Crescent Valley; senior guard Josiah Roth of Silverton; and junior wing Isaac Gabriel of Corvallis.

The second team is: junior wing Sam Myers of South Albany; senior guard Carter Weisensee of Dallas; senior post Cam Sanders of Crescent Valley; senior guard Braden Vasquez of North Salem; junior guard Calvin Cahill of Corvallis; senior guard Maxwell Johnson of Corvallis;  and sophomore post T.J. Zimmerman of West Albany.

Two Lebanon players received honorable mention: senior wing Eddy Kennedy and sophomore guard Cole Weber.

The other players named honorable mention were: Kaleb Kantola, Central, Sr Wing/Post; Isaiah Gilliam, South Albany, Soph Guard; Grant Dunn, Silverton, Jr Guard; Jack Anderson, Dallas, Sr Wing; Kenyon McGlothan ,South Albany, Jr Guard; Tameron Hampton, North Salem, Sr Guard; Koby Ruiz, West Albany, Soph Guard;  Wes Raab, Crescent Valley, Jr Wing; Justin Hamilton, Crescent Valley, Soph Post; Noah Greenblatt, Corvallis, Sr Post; Sebbie Law, Corvallis, Jr Wing; Drake Ulven, Silverton, Sr Guard; Jordan McCarty, Silverton, Fr Guard; Jesse Cable, Central, Sr Wing/Post; Brooks Ferguson, Central, Fr Wing/Post; Jadon Lyons-Lopez, South Albany, Sr Guard; Eli Nafziger, South Albany, Sr Guard; Will Button, Dallas, Sr Guard; James Fennell Dallas, Sr Guard; Rene Romero, North Salem, Sr Post; Michael Endicott, North Salem, Jr Guard; Channon Schuerger, West Albany, Sr Guard; Austin Stanaway, West Albany, Jr Guard.


Load comments