Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Bowman joins Corvallis race in Ward 7

Bowman joins Corvallis race in Ward 7

  • Updated
  • 0

The candidate list for the Corvallis City Council has received a late addition.

Nic Bowman, an elementary school teacher and Oregon State University graduate, will be challenging incumbent Paul Shaffer in Ward 7. Shaffer took office last November after easily winning a five-candidate special election to replace Bill Glassmire, who resigned last August for health reasons.

Bowman, 38, said he decided to run after reading a Gazette-Times article that indicated that there would perhaps be just one contested race in November.

“I’m running so that people have a choice,” Bowman said. “And I believe that having a choice automatically increases overall engagement. I’m not necessarily looking to make a change, but I know I can make a difference.”

Bowman said that education, the environment and equity are issues that he looks forward to addressing.

“As I walked through neighborhoods over the weekend seeking signatures for my petition, I met many people interested in what I had to say and eager to at least give me the chance to participate in the process,” he said.

Bowman is a West Albany High graduate who earned his associate of arts transfer certificate from Linn-Benton Community College. He majored in education and liberal studies at Oregon State and is about to enter his eighth year as a teacher in Lebanon.

Bowman’s addition means that there will be a maximum of two contested City Council races in Corvallis this fall.

Tuesday was the final day to take out papers for the Nov. 3 election, and only Ward 5 and Ward 7 have two candidates, although one of the Ward 5 candidates, Briae Lewis, still must get her petition signatures approved by Benton County election officials.

All candidates must be certified for the ballot by Friday. Candidates can choose to withdraw afterward, but if they do so after Aug. 28 their names still will appear on the ballot.

Here is a look at the lineup for fall:

• Incumbents Jan Napack (Ward 1), Charles Maughan (Ward 2), Hyatt Lytle (Ward 3), Ed Junkins (Ward 8) and Andrew Struthers (Ward 9) all have been certified for the ballot and will be running unopposed.

• Oregon State University engineering graduate and Budget Commission member Gabe Shepherd is on the ballot in Ward 4. Shepherd is seeking to replace Barbara Bull, who chose not to seek a fourth term in the near-campus ward.

• Lewis, a day care teacher, is challenging two-term incumbent Charlyn Ellis in Ward 5. Ellis already has been certified.

• Laurie Chaplen, a community volunteer, is certified for the ballot and running unopposed in Ward 6. Incumbent Nancy Wyse won the Democratic primary for a seat on the Benton County Board of Commissioners and is not seeking re-election.

Contact reporter James Day at or 541-812-6116. Follow at or


Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News