The Albany Area Chamber of Commerce and Samaritan Health Physicians have announced nominees for the 74th Annual Distinguished Service Awards Banquet, scheduled for Saturday, March 9, at the Boys & Girls Club of Albany.

The nominees:

Distinguished Service Award: George Dooley; John Kollaer, Mennonite Village; Jim Merryman, OFD Foods Inc.

Junior First Citizen: Eric Aguinaga, Les Schwab Tire Center; Hannah Blicher, ServPro of Linn & Benton Counties; Erik Fedler, Central Willamette Credit Union.

Jim Linhart First Citizen: Russ Hedge, ServPro of Linn & Benton Counties; Arthur Meeker, Xtreme Grafx; Chris Reece, Southpaws Pizza; Sarah Steen, AmeriTitle.

Distinguished Student: Megan Cox, West Albany High School; Rosemarie Howard, South Albany High School; Christopher Smith, Santiam Christian Schools.

This year's banquet will also include a special presentation honoring Rep. Andy Olson with the Legacy Award for his years of dedication and support to the community.

Business of the Year Awards will also be presented. Nominees include:

Small Business of the Year: Albany Carpet One, Pacific Residential Mortgage, Parr Lumber.

Large Business of the Year: Arauco, Mennonite Village, Mike’s Heating & Air Conditioning.

Tickets for the DSA Banquet are $70 per person.

Social hours will begin at 5:30 p.m. and dinner will be served at 6:30 p.m. Suggested attire is semi-formal. For more information, or to reserve seats, contact the Albany Area Chamber office, 541-926-1517, or register online at

Contact Linn County reporter Alex Paul at 541-812-6114.


Load comments